Mt. Yuanzui (鳶嘴山)

It’s City Slicker in the wild again, people! This is the urban couch potato’s attempt to reconnect with nature by doing “very difficult” hiking. Mount Yuanzui (Bird’s Beak) is located in Central Taiwan, about 1 hour drive from Taichung City. I love this city, the wild and the semi-wild are only 1-2 hours drive from the metropolitan. Anyway, the hike in Mt. Yanzui is quite challenging and yet easy at the same time. 2 weeks ago I went hiking in Dakeng where I had to climb the sturdy wooden stairs all the way up and all the way down. I believed I’ve done my cardio for the entire week that day, because going up and down on those stairs really drained your sweat. But in Mt. Yuanzui where you actually do mountain climbing, as in climbing  and crawling on the rocks, you don’t sweat that much.
beginning of the hike
climb up!
looking down
It takes around 2 hours to reach the peak. The mountain itself is not that high, only 2130 metres high, and it is part of the Mt. Daxue (大雪山) range. I hesitated at first when I found out that I had to crawl on the rock. But turns out to be quite easy, especially there are ropes attached to the rocks that help me climb. The view is breathtaking as fogs softly cover the top of the trees.
the view, on the way to the peak
a brightly-coloured fellow climber catching up behind us
still on the way to the top
I practically don’t have any special gear with me. I only wear my cargo pants, sneakers with good grip, a light jacket, and a backpack filled with water bottle and fruits. That’s it. If only I have more food with me since I’m going to be hungry when I get to the peak.
the peak!
the bright view from the top
dramatic clouds
my partner enjoying the moment
It’s bright and windy at the peak. My stomach is shrieking, so I open a bag of persimmons. It’s not enough, but it has to do for now. Time to go down. We decide to go from the other side of the mountain, and this side is actually longer than the side we took to go up. But it is also around 2 hours to reach the bottom of the mountain.
going down
climbing down
Finally! The (kinda) foot of the mountain at last where beautiful woods await.

About landakungu (Dane Anwar)

Landakungu is the blog of Dane Anwar, a native Jakartan. She loves to travel, read comics, novels, and watch films. After spending 5 years living in Taiwan and 4 months in China, she is finally back in Indonesia, which is going to be her new base for more travels and other interestng things.
This entry was posted in Photos, Taiwan. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mt. Yuanzui (鳶嘴山)

  1. Pingback: Yuanzui | AwOiSoAk

  2. Xanier says:

    Hello Dane,

    May I know if a mountain permit / police permit is required to hike up Mt Yuanzui?

    Thank You!

Leave a Reply

