A day of tropical trekking

As an ex village girl I had to admit that I have never trekked in my village before. I’ve been to a small hill on the back of the village several times before, as well as playing in the river, but basically that was it. No serious trek there ever, besides I was far too small at that time to be allowed trekking.
IMG_7287I wish I could say that this is a cabin in the wood, but there isn’t much wood surrounding it. ???????????????????????????????a local farmer’s fierce guard hounds waiting for preys???????????????????????????????…which they chomped ferociously???????????????????????????????full & satiated after a big meal, but still looking fierce
My family suddenly decided in one morning that we would do trekking. A real trek in a forest. It was a good idea, even my mother who is basically a trekking scaredy-cat decided to tag along. After spending years living in Taiwan, I almost forget how humid Indonesian rainforest could be. A 20 minute trek from the foot of the hill to the entrance of the forest already made me bathing in my own sweat. But hey… anything to burn excess calories. Nearby the forest entrance I found a footprint of a hog, and a footprint of a Malayan tapir. A real wild tapir walked on the same path with me. Local farmers claimed that tapirs roamed the area and they are known to be gentle, not attacking the crops. My anticipation of meeting a wild tapir soon dissipated when I remembered that tapirs are nocturnal. Unless I decided to stay overnight, then no tapirs that day.
IMG_7245we’re going thereCIMG9533bosses left a bit far behindIMG_7215my brother a bit far ahead. in my defense, he was wearing proper trekking boots while I only wore sandalsIMG_7217haloIMG_7248a hog’s footrpint. most of the times hogs are known to be pests here and villagers would hunt themIMG_7249a Malayan tapir footprint, which was my walk of fame moment
The ground was fully covered with fallen leaves, making us had to be careful when we tread along the path, especially the steep ones. In some parts we had to use rope so we wouldn’t slip and fall. We trekked along the stream and found several waterfalls along the way. The dirt in the waterfall pools were red, signing it contained iron. The forest itself wasn’t very dense, sunlight still came through the canopies. There was wind blowing, no mosquitoes flew around us, making the trek very very pleasant… and sticky.
IMG_7253getting deeper into the forestCIMG9539now, this was a proper trek since we were using ropes. although I wasn’t sure if they were proper trekking ropes or notIMG_7255the red water streamCIMG9545one of the waterfalls that we passed, this was the highestCIMG9535a much smaller waterfallCIMG9557
The sun settled on the west, meaning we must finish the trek. It took us around 5 hours to finish. Local farmers come to this forest from time to time, making sure it is well taken care of. They also warned us to stay close to the river and just followed it downstream, also not to smoke cigarettes or burn anything, which we happily obliged. Sadly I must say that even the villagers never come to this forest, perhaps we were the only crazy city family who deliberately decided to get into the forest for fun. On the other side though, maybe it’s a good thing not not allowing teenagers coming into the forest to smoke and drink.
IMG_7293almost sunset
About landakungu (Dane Anwar)

Landakungu is the blog of Dane Anwar, a native Jakartan. She loves to travel, read comics, novels, and watch films. After spending 5 years living in Taiwan and 4 months in China, she is finally back in Indonesia, which is going to be her new base for more travels and other interestng things.
This entry was posted in Indonesia, Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

